Nostell Priory: Six of the Georgian House’s most valuable possessions will be on display this fall

0
Curator Simon McCormack pictured with a 17th century cabinet that is by the hand of Pierre Gole, a Louis XIV furniture maker
Curator Simon McCormack pictured with a 17th century cabinet that is by the hand of Pierre Gole, a Louis XIV furniture maker

Visitors will be able to observe the treasures of Nostell Priory near Wakefield up close until the 18th-century mansion closes for the winter on October 31.

The exhibit will feature Nostell’s rare 18th-century dollhouse and his most valuable paintings by five artists, the monumental library desk by master craftsman Thomas Chippendale, and a 17th-century cabinet that were made by the furniture maker of Louis XIV Pierre Gole.

Register now to our daily newsletter

The newsletter i cut through the noise

The famous painting by Thomas More de Nostell and the finely decorated punch hong bowl will also be on display.

Nostell Priory Curator Simon McCormack said: “The National Trust has selected 125 iconic objects from its homes for a special book commemorating the anniversary and six of them are in Nostell, more than any other in North England.

“All of these flagship objects and many other treasures are at Nostell thanks to the Winn family, as part of their efforts to create a grand and fashionable home.

“This fall, visitors can see them in a repost that highlights their importance, not just to the home, but to our nation’s collective heritage.”

Site General Manager Jonathan Brewer added, “Nostell is one of the North’s best kept secrets.

“We want people to see, share and shape treasures not only in the house, but also on Nostell’s 300 acres of land, which includes meadows, woods, lakes, a historic stable yard, an orangery. , pleasure grounds, a rose garden, a menagerie garden and a functional kitchen. garden.

“Tours of Nostell’s House, Park and Gardens help support vital conservation work and new exhibits such as the Six Treasures Experience, and we are very grateful to everyone for their support, without which we couldn’t do what we’re doing. “

The estate dates from 1733, and was built for the Winn family on the site of a medieval priory.

The priory and its contents were donated to the National Trust in 1953 by the administrators of the estate and Rowland Winn, the third Baron St Oswald.


Source link

Share.

Comments are closed.